Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: University of Pretoria Library

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

University of Pretoria: Merensky Library

University of Pretoria: Merensky Library

Mr. Sam Makgalemele (Junior Information Officer, SA Music Collections)
Tel.:  +27 12 420 4787
E-mail:  sam.makgalemele@up.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Merensky 2 Library
Level 5 (Old Merensky)
Lynnwood Road
University of Pretoria
Main Campus (Hatfield)
Pretoria
South Africa
  Faculty Library for Humanities
Department of Library Services
University of Pretoria
Pretoria
0002
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 6

  1. Bender, Anna
  2. Coertse, Mimi
  3. Grové, Stefans
  4. Lambrecht, Sarie
  5. Napier, Marita
  6. Van der Merwe, F.Z.
    1. Hofmeyr, Hendrik
    2. Jolly, Margaret
    3. Malan, Pierre
    4. Roux, Isak
    5. Sound Recordings (University of Pretoria)

Potential acquisitions:

General acquisition of collections.
Development of Mimi Coertse collection.
Development of F.Z. van der Merwe collection.

Scope and Content

Artefacts
Broadcasts
Certificates
Correspondence
Lectures
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Objets d’art (Paintings)
Photographs
Printed music
Programmes
Sound recordings (CDs; DVDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Videos).

Textiles (Opera costumes)

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
General research on all collections.
Prospective digitizing project: Mimi Coertse and Marita Napier transferred from reel tape to CD.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Collections

Bender, Anna
Call number  ZAMUS BENDER
Type Western art music.
Extent 37 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet. See Anna Bender.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Broadcasts; Correspondence; Lectures; Monographs; Music Manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Accompanist and orchestral pianist of t he South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC).

 

Coertse, Mimi
Call number  ZAMUS COERTSE
Type Western art music.
Extent 60 pamphlet boxes; 9 m.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (electronic). See UP Space. See also Mimi Coertse.
Description Language(s) English; Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Correspondence; Monographs; Newspaper cuttings; Objets d’art (Paintings); Photographs; Programmes; Sound recordings (CDs); Textiles (Opera costumes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes South African singer.

 

Grové, Stefans
Call number  ZAMUS FZ GROVE, STEFANS
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 75 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (electronic). See Stefans Grové.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Lambrecht, Sarie
Call number  ZAMUS LAMBRECHT
Type Western art music.
Extent 11 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access See Sarie Lamprecht.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Napier, Marita
Call number  ZAMUS NAPIER
Type Western art music.
Extent 72 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access See Marieta Napier.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs; Reel tapes; Videos); Textiles (Opera costumes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Merwe, F.Z.
Call number  ZAMUS FZ
Type African music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 301 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (electronic). See F.Z. van der Merwe.
Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Minutes; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (Cds; DVDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Medical doctor with interest in South African music.

 

Van der Merwe, F.Z.: Hofmeyr, Hendrik
Call number  ZAMUS FZ HOFMEYR; FZ CD HOFMEYR
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 250 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access See UP Space.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Complete works.
Integrated with F.Z. van der Merwe collection.

 

Van der Merwe, F.Z.: Jolly, Margaret
Call number  ZAMUS FZ JOLLY
Type Western art music.
Extent 34 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access See UP Space.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Integrated with F.Z. van der Merwe collection.

 

Van der Merwe, F.Z.: Malan, Pierre
Call number ZAMUS FZ MALAN
Type Western art music.
Extent 35 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access See UP Space.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Integrated with F.Z. van der Merwe collection.

 

Van der Merwe, F.Z.: Roux, Isak
Call number  ZAMUS FZ ROUX
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 70 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access See UP Space.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Complete works.
Integrated with F.Z. van der Merwe collection.

 

Van der Merwe, F.Z.: Sound Recordings (University of Pretoria)
Call number  ZAMUS FZ CD
Type African music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent ca. 200 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access See UP Space.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; DVDs; Videos).
Acquisition By donation.td>
Notes Integrated with F.Z. van der Merwe collection.