Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: SAMRO

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Contact

Only music research and archival enquiries

Music Archivist
Tel.:  +27 11 712 8000
Fax:  +27 86 683 5976
E-mail:  samrofoundation@samro.org.za
E-mail:  samroscores@samro.org.za

 

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
SAMRO Place
20 De Korte Street
Braamfontein
Johannesburg
South Africa
  SAMRO
P.O. Box 31609
Braamfontein
2017
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 30

  1. Buckingham, Lesley
  2. Correspondence (SAMRO)
  3. Cronje, Zane
  4. De Kock, M.
  5. De Waal, Carstens
  6. Du Plessis, Hubert
  7. Gouws, Hansie
  8. Harvey, Eva Noel
  9. Human Rights Oratorio
  10. Huskisson, Yvonne
  11. Indegenous African Music (IAM) transcriptions
  12. Labuschagne, Nick
  13. Lead Sheets
  14. Light Music
  15. Loots, Joyce
  16. Löwenherz, Ernst
  17. Malan, Pierre
  18. Mentz, Esther
  19. Miller, Phillip
  20. Music Instruments (SAMRO)
  21. Newspaper Cuttings (SAMRO)
  22. Paintings (SAMRO)
  23. Periodicals and Newsletters (SAMRO)
  24. Photographs (SAMRO)
  25. Posters (SAMRO)
  26. Printed Works (SAMRO)
  27. SAMRO Bursaries and Overseas Scholarships
  28. Sound Recordings (SAMRO)
  29. Van Rensburg, Louis
  30. Western Art Music (SAMRO) 

Potential acquisitions:

Schlossberg Collection of 78 sound recordings.
Consistent donations of individual items.

Scope and Content

Audition Lists
Brochures
Correspondence
Financial documents
Indexes
Membership lists
Minutes
Music manuscripts
Musical instruments
Newsletters
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Objets d’art (Paintings)
Periodicals
Photographs
Posters
Printed music
Programmes
Sound recordings (CDs; Sound cassettes; Videos)

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
Songlines, it starts with a heartbeat and digital futures.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
IAM Transcriptions of indigenous music.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections A-B

Buckingham, Lesley
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 3 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Standard European and English repertoire.

Collections C-D

Correspondence (SAMRO)
Call number  -
Type African music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 30 pamphlet boxes (3 m).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Indexes; Newsletters; Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Includes 1 file of Obelisk [Music Publisher] Newsletters.

 

Cronje, Zane
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted. According to productions.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (Fair copies).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Compositions relating to respective television and film productions.

 

De Kock, M.
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

De Waal, Carstens
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent 6 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted. Arranged alphabetically according to title.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts (Lead sheets).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Du Plessis, Hubert
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections G-H

Gouws, Hansie
Call number  -
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts (Fair copies).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Harvey, Eva Noel
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Human Rights Oratorio
Call number  F004
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 15 pamphlet boxes (1.5 m).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Combined work by South African composers: Stefans Grové, Peter Klatzow, Sipho Mabuse, Surendran Reddy, Hans Roosenschoon, Carl van Wyk and Jeanne Zaidel-Rudolph.

 

Huskisson, Yvonne
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 30 pamphlet boxes (3 m).
Level of description Sorted. Arranged alphabetically.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Photographs are located in steel cabinet with photograph collection.

Collections I-J

Indigenous African Music transcriptions (IAM transcriptions)
Call number  -
Type African music.
Extent ca. 50 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Catalogued. See IAM Transcriptions.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Printed music (PDF versions).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Indigenous African music transcriptions.
Continuous additions.

Collections K-L

Labuschagne, Nick
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent 16 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Lead Sheets
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent 112 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted. Arranged alphabetically according to title.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Light Music
Call number  AL[00000]
Type Popular music.
Extent ca. 3.5 m (unsorted); ca. 1.5 m (sorted).
Level of description Sorted; Unsorted. Arranged alphabetically according to composer.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Loots, Joyce
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts (Fair copies).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Löwenherz, Ernst
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 scrapbooks.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections M-N

Malan, Pierre
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Mentz, Esther
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 5 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Miller, Phillip
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 170 pamphlet boxes (17 m).
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Libretti; Monographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Musical Instruments (SAMRO)
Call number  -
Type -
Extent ca. 14 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Specifically to accompany Allan Stephenson’s work, Morethetha wa Machaba.

 

Newspaper Cuttings (SAMRO)
Call number  -
Type African music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 30 files.
Level of description Sorted. Sorted according to date.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Notes; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections O-P

Paintings (SAMRO)
Call number  -
Type African; Western art music.
Extent ca. 15 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Objets d’art (Paintings).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Periodicals and Newsletters (SAMRO)
Call number  -
Type African music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent ca. 10 pamphlet boxes (1 m).
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Newsletters; Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Photographs (SAMRO)
Call number  PH0001-PH0600
Type African music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 2 steel cabinets.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue. Arranged alphabetically according to person or group.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Posters (SAMRO)
Call number  -
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent ca. 15 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Posters.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Competitions winners (Overseas Scholarships).

 

Printed Works (SAMRO)
Call number  A[00000] (Serious Music)
Type Western art music.
Extent 10 pamphlet boxes (1 m).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections S-T

SAMRO Bursaries and Overseas Scholarships
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 30 pamphlet boxes (3m).
Level of description Sorted. Arranged according to date (year).
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Brochures; Correspondence; Notes; Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Sound Recordings (SAMRO)
Call number  CD[0000] (CDs); SM[0000] (Sound Cassettes)
Type African music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 4 steel cabinets.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections U-V

Van Rensburg, Louis
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Notes; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections W-Z

Western Art Music (SAMRO)
Call number  A[0000]
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 360 pamphlet boxes (36 m).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -