Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: National Library of South Africa (NLSA)

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

National Library of South Africa (NLSA)

NATIONAL LIBRARY OF SOUTH AFRICA

Contact

Cape Town campus

Reference department:
Najwa Hendrickse (Cape Town)
Tel.: +27 21 487 5624/5625
E-mail: najwa.hendrickse@nlsa.ac.za

Special Collections department
Melanie Geustyn (Cape Town)

Tel.: +27 21 487 5619/5620
E-mail: melanie.geustyn@nlsa.ac.za

Cape Town:
Tel.: +(27) 21 424 6320 (switchboard)
Fax: +(27) 21 423 3359
E-mail: info@nlsa.ac.za
E-mail: specialcollections@nlsa.ac.za

 

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
The National Library of South Africa
5 Queen Victoria Street

Cape Town
South Africa
  The National Library of South Africa
P.O. Box 496
Cape Town
8000
South Africa

 

Cape Town


View Larger Map

 

Pretoria campus

Tel.: +(27) 12 401 9700 (switchboard)
Tel.: +(27) 12 401 9725/9741 (Reference department)
E-mail: infodesk@nlsa.ac.za

 

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
The National Library of South Africa
228 Johannes Ramokhoase (Proes) Street

Pretoria
0001
South Africa
  The National Library of South Africa
Private Bag X990
Pretoria
0001
South Africa

 

Pretoria


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 7

  1. Armstrong, John
  2. Grey, George
  3. Kramer, Hans
  4. Legal Deposit Collection
  5. Perkins Collection
  6. Robertson, Marian
  7. Sound Recordings (NLSA)

Potential acquisitions:

None.

Scope and Content

Broadcasts
Brochures
Correspondence
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Periodicals
Photographs
Printed music
Programmes
Scrapbooks
Sketch books
Sound recordings (Gramophone records)

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
Retrospective cataloguing of periodicals and newspapers.
Retrospective cataloguing of monographs nearing completion.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections A-B

Armstrong, John
Call number  JA 780 + Dewey number
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 3238 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Vocal music. See National Library of South Africa Online Catalogue (WorldCat).

Collections G-H

Grey, George
Call number  G -
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 5000 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list and catalogued (electronic on WorldCat).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Notes; Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Contains some music. Includes early editions. See National Library of South Africa Online Catalogue.

Collections K-L

Kramer, Hans
Call number  MSC 81
Type Western art music.
Extent 46 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Broadcasts; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Programmes; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Includes material relating to the 'Cape Town Concert Club'.

 

Legal Deposit Collection
Call number  AfrMus -
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 5290 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue (composer and title). Electronic catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Monographs; Periodicals; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See National Library of South Africa Online Catalogue (WorldCat).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Monographs; Periodicals; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections O-P

Perkins Collection
Call number  P + Accession year
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 140 556 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Electronic catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Monographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes General collection for non-Africana items. See National Library of South Africa Online Catalogue (WorldCat).

Collections Q-R

Robertson, Marian
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 34 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Marian Robertson Collection at University of Cape Town (UCT): Rare Books & Special Collections.

Collections S-T

Sound Recordings (NLSA)
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 78 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Located in Government Publications section.