Scope and Content
DOMUSJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Manuscripts and ArchivesUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "Home" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Oct 18, 2016 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page

South African Music Departments and Libraries

This box contains links to South African music departments and academic music libraries in general. For music archival materials and special collections, please use the tabs above.


Updating information

Keeping this directory updated and relevant is an enormous task; therefore, cooperation from institutions is highly valued for the success of this project by notifying DOMUS of the following:

  • Changes in staff, contact details and URLs
  • New acquisitions
  • Changes in the status (sorting and cataloguing) of existing collections
  • Addition of repositories and private collections not represented in this directory
  • Any inaccuracies in the directory

For consistency in the directory, specific terms pertaining to collection content, are used. For these terms, please see Scope and Content under the 'Home' tab.

For further information and contributions, please contact Santie de Jongh.




    A lack of funding, staff shortages, and time constraints in the archives, libraries and document centres environment are all factors that inhibit research. This directory addresses these issues by collating information on special music collections in South Africa in order to stimulate music research on South African materials in South Africa and internationally. In an effort to cover the widest possible spectrum in music research, the directory provides the location and status of documents and collections.

    This directory was initially part of a Masters study, funded by the South African Music Archive Project (SAMAP) and created under the auspices of the Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service.

    Although only a number of national, provincial and tertiary institutions are currently represented in the directory, the aim is to expand it by including further institutions in the aforementioned categories and private collections.


    How to reference the Directory of South African Music Collections:

    De Jongh, M.S. [Date]. Directory of South African Music Collections [Online]. Available:  [Year accessed, Month Day].


      Navigation of Directory

      The Directory of South African Music Collections is divided according to province. The various institutions are accessible via the drop-down menus for each province.

      Each individual repository entry consists of:

      • Contact information (accompanied by a map and a list of institutions)
      • A list of holdings (alphabetically arranged)
      • Scope and content (types of items available)
      • Research projects
      • Summaries of the various collections (alphabetically arranged)
      • At the top of most institution pages, an A-Z links menu assists with navigation.

      The collection summaries include the following information:

      • Call number
      • Type according to broader general categories (African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music)
      • Extent (metre, pamphlet box, shelving space)
      • Level of description (sorted, unsorted)
      • Access (availability of finding aids)
      • Description language of finding aids
      • Scope and content
      • Acquisition (donation, purchase)
      • Notes

      Navigate as follows:

      • Browsing via province and institution
      • Searching




        The Arch of Titus Menorah relief in Rome depictis the siege of Jerusalem, 70 AD. "Judaea Capta" - "Judaea is enslaved/conquered". The image displays objects taken from the Temple, which include the seven-branched Menorah, the table for the Shewbread and two trumpets.

        Source: By derivative work: Steerpike, via Wikimedia Commons 

        Arch of Titus Menorah

        Loading  Loading...