Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "Kimberley Africana Library" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

Kimberley Africana Library Print Page
  Search: 
 

Kimberley Africana Library

Contact

Mrs. Shirley James
Tel.:  +27 53 830 6247
Fax:  +27 53 830 6247
E-mail:  africana@solplaatje.org.za


Mrs. K. Duminy
Tel.:  +27 53 830 6247
Fax:  +27 53 830 6247
E-mail:  kduminy@solplaatje.org.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
63-65 Dutoitspan Road
Kimberley

South Africa
P.O. Box 627
Kimberley
8300
South Africa


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 5

    1. Africana Books
    2. Music Pamphlets
    3. Newspaper Articles
    4. Printed Music
    5. Sheet Music

    Potential acquisitions:

    None.

        

      Scope and Content

      Bibliographies
      Brochures
      Monographs
      Music manuscripts
      Newspaper cuttings
      Printed music

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        None.

            

          Collections

          Africana Books
          Call number  A-
          Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
          Extent ca. 80 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic: DB Text (InMagic).
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Bibliographies; Monographs; Printed music.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Africana and Kimberley music.

           

          Music Pamphlets
          Call number  -
          Type African music; Western art music.
          Extent 6 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Uncatalogued.
          Description Language(s) -
          Scope and content Brochures.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Newspaper Articles
          Call number  -
          Type African music; Music education; Western art music.
          Extent ca. 100 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Card catalogue and Electronic: DB Text (InMagic).
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Newspaper cuttings.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Printed Music
          Call number  A-
          Type Western art music.
          Extent ca. 70 items.
          Level of description Unsorted.
          Access Uncatalogued.
          Description Language(s) -
          Scope and content Printed music.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes European music: serves as example of music performed by Kimberley residents.

           

          Sheet Music
          Call number  A 780
          Type African music; Folk music; Military music; Music education; Popular music.
          Extent ca. 90 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic: DB Text (InMagic).
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -
              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip