Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "University of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

University of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers Print Page
  Search: 
 

University of the Witwatersrand (Wits)

Contact

Curator of Manuscripts
Tel.:  +27 11 717 1940
Fax:  +27 11 339 4137
E-mail:  michele.pickover@wits.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Room 2
Ground Floor
William Cullen Library
East Campus
University of the Witwatersrand
Johannesburg
South Africa
Historical Papers
William Cullen Library
University of the Witwatersrand
Private Bag X1
P.O. WITS
2050
South Africa


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 13

    1. Adler, Hans
    2. Arts Alive
    3. Dzivhani, Stephen
    4. Harp Society of South Africa
    5. Idelson, Jeremiah
    6. Johannesburg Musical Society
    7. Juvenile Musical Society, Johannesburg
    8. Musica Viva Society
    9. Plaatje, Solomon
    10. Pollak, Melanie
    11. South African Institute of Race Relations
    12. Voëlvry
    13. WITS Performing Arts Administration

     

    Potential acquisitions:

    General acquisition of collections.

        

      Scope and Content

      Address books
      Brochures
      Bulletins
      Catalogues
      Constitutions
      Correspondence
      Diaries
      Financial documents
      Invitation cards
      Itineraries
      Lectures
      Maps
      Membership lists
      Memoranda
      Minutes
      Monographs
      Music manuscripts
      Newsletters
      Newspaper cuttings
      Notes
      Periodicals
      Personal documents
      Photographs
      Printed music
      Programmes
      Reports
      Scrapbooks
      Seating plans
      Sound recordings (Videos)
      Statutes
      Tickets

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        None.

            

          Navigate A-Z

          A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

          Collections A-B

          Adler, Hans
          Call number  A2096
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 246 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
          Description Language(s) English
          Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Arts Alive
          Call number  AG2850
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 3 pamphlet boxes; 140 Items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Newspaper cuttings; Programmes; Sound recordings (Videos).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -
              

            Collections C-D

            Dzivhani, Stephen
            Call number  A1075
            Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education.
            Extent 3048 items.
            Level of description Sorted.
            Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
            Description Language(s) English
            Scope and content

            Brochures; Correspondence; Diaries; Financial documents; Lectures; Maps; Memoranda; Minutes; Music manuscripts; Notes; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Reports.

            Acquisition By donation.
            Notes -
                

              Collections G-H

              Harp Society of South Africa
              Call number  A2397
              Type Western art music.
              Extent 3 pamphlet boxes.
              Level of description Sorted.
              Access Electronic inventory.
              Description Language(s) English
              Scope and content Minutes; Scrapbooks.
              Acquisition By donation.
              Notes -
                  

                Collections I-J

                Idelson, Jeremiah
                Call number  A879
                Type Liturgical music; Folk music; Western art music.
                Extent 4 pamphlet boxes.
                Level of description Sorted.
                Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
                Description Language(s) English
                Scope and content Bulletins; Catalogues; Constitutions; Correspondence; Financial documents; Minutes; Music Manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Printed music; Programmes; Reports; Statutes.
                Acquisition By donation.
                Notes -

                 

                Johannesburg Musical Society
                Call number  AG2572; A1112
                Type Western art music.
                Extent 13 pamphlet boxes.
                Level of description Sorted.
                Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
                Description Language(s) English.
                Scope and content Financial documents; Minutes; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Programmes.
                Acquisition By donation.
                Notes See also Pollak, Melanie.

                 

                Juvenile Musical Society, Johannesburg
                Call number  A60
                Type Western art music.
                Extent 1 pamphlet box.
                Level of description Sorted.
                Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
                Description Language(s) English.
                Scope and content Address books; Correspondence; Invitation cards; Minutes; Notes; Programmes; Tickets.
                Acquisition By donation.
                Notes -
                    

                  Collections M-N

                  Musica Viva Society
                  Call number  A879
                  Type Western art music.
                  Extent 26 pamphlet boxes.
                  Level of description Sorted.
                  Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
                  Description Language(s) English
                  Scope and content Broadcasts; Constitutions; Correspondence; Financial documents; Memoranda; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Programmes; Reports; Schedules; Seating plans.
                  Acquisition By donation.
                  Notes -
                      

                    Collections O-P

                    Plaatje, Solomon
                    Call number  A1742Tap
                    Type African music; Folk music; Popular Music.
                    Extent 1 item.
                    Level of description Sorted.
                    Access Electronic inventory. See Wits Collections database.
                    Description Language(s) English
                    Scope and content Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
                    Acquisition By donation.
                    Notes -

                     

                    Pollak, Melanie
                    Call number  A2567
                    Type Western art music.
                    Extent 1 pamphlet box.
                    Level of description Sorted.
                    Access Electronic inventory. See Wits Collections database.
                    Description Language(s) English.
                    Scope and content Correspondence; Photographs; Programmes.
                    Acquisition By donation.
                    Notes See also Johannesburg Musical Society.
                        

                      Collections S-T

                      South African Institute of Race Relations
                      Call number  AD1912 ; AD843B ; AD843RJ
                      Type African music; Music education; Popular Music.
                      Extent 42 items; 2 files; 2 pamphlet boxes.
                      Level of description Sorted.
                      Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
                      Description Language(s) English
                      Scope and content Constitutions; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Programmes.
                      Acquisition By donation.
                      Notes -
                          

                        Collections U-V

                        Voëlvry
                        Call number  AG3212
                        Type Popular Music.
                        Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
                        Level of description Sorted.
                        Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
                        Description Language(s) English
                        Scope and content Articles; Correspondence; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings.
                        Acquisition By donation.
                        Notes -
                            

                          Collections W-Z

                          Western Art Music (SAMRO)
                          Call number  A[0000]
                          Type Western art music.
                          Extent ca. 360 pamphlet boxes (36 m).
                          Level of description Sorted.
                          Access Electronic catalogue.
                          Description Language(s) English.
                          Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
                          Acquisition By donation.
                          Notes -
                              
                            Description

                            Loading  Loading...

                            Tip