-
- Library AND Information Service
-
This box contains links to South African music departments and academic music libraries in general. For music archival materials and special collections, please use the tabs above.
Keeping this directory updated and relevant is an enormous task; therefore, cooperation from institutions is highly valued for the success of this project by notifying DOMUS of the following:
For consistency in the directory, specific terms pertaining to collection content, are used. For these terms, please see Scope and Content under the 'Home' tab.
For further information and contributions, please contact Santie de Jongh.
The Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service will be hosting the annual congress of the International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres (IAML) at the Music Department, Stellenbosch University, South Africa from 23-28 June 2024. This is the first time for IAML to host its congress on the African continent.
The IAML Congress is usually attended by music librarians, archivists, musicologists, researchers, and other professionals from around the world.
To register and for more information, please see IAML 2024.
A lack of funding, staff shortages, and time constraints in the archives, libraries and document centres environment are all factors that inhibit research. This directory addresses these issues by collating information on special music collections in South Africa in order to stimulate music research on South African materials in South Africa and internationally. In an effort to cover the widest possible spectrum in music research, the directory provides the location and status of documents and collections.
This directory was initially part of a Masters study, funded by the South African Music Archive Project (SAMAP) and created under the auspices of the Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service.
Although only a number of national, provincial and tertiary institutions are currently represented in the directory, the aim is to expand it by including further institutions in the aforementioned categories and private collections.
How to reference the Directory of South African Music Collections:
De Jongh, M.S. [Date]. Directory of South African Music Collections [Online]. Available: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections [Year accessed, Month Day].
The Directory of South African Music Collections is divided according to province. The various institutions are accessible via the drop-down menus for each province.
Each individual repository entry consists of:
The collection summaries include the following information:
Navigate as follows:
The Arch of Titus Menorah relief in Rome depicts the siege of Jerusalem, 70 AD. "Judaea Capta" - "Judaea is enslaved/conquered". The image displays objects taken from the Temple, which include the seven-branched Menorah, the table for the Shewbread and two trumpets.
Source: By derivative work: Steerpike, via Wikimedia Commons
